McMaster University will continue to host undergraduate academic activities remotely for the Spring/Summer/Intersession term with only a few exceptions for courses that need student access to specialized equipment.

Three Science faculty members recognized for research excellence

Colleagues have awarded Faculty of Science Research Chairs to Louis Schmidt, Gillian Goward and Martin Gibala.

The faculty members will join last year’s cohort of Michael BrookKari Dalnoki-Veress and Allison Williams.

Maureen MacDonald, dean of Science, and Gianni Parise, Associate Dean of Research & External Relations, congratulated the Faculty’s newest chairs during a celebration hosted at the LIVELab.

“Being awarded a Faculty of Science Research Chair is a special honour because colleagues are nominated and then chosen by their peers,” says MacDonald.

Introduced in 2019, Faculty of Science Research Chairs receive three years of funding for graduate students and supplies. The designation also helps secure further grants, investments and partnerships.

Dalnoki-Veress, who was named an inaugural Faculty of Science Research Chair last year, joined Megumi Harada and Pat Bennett on the selection committee chaired by Goward.

“Selecting this year’s Faculty of Science Research Chairs was far from quick or easy decision for the committee,” said Parise. “We had 15 researchers nominated from across the entire Faculty and every candidate is an exceptional researcher and mentor to students”

In addition to introducing Research Chairs, the Faculty of Science has launched a Research Infrastructure Renewal Fund, Post Leave Support Program and Global Science Initiative. A third cohort of Faculty of Science Research Chairs will be chosen next year.

“We’re proud to be making significant and sustainable investments that support our researchers in building a brighter world,” says MacDonald.


(from left): PhD students Chris Franko and Annica Freytag, Research Lab Manager Blossam Yan, Faculty of Science Research Chair Gillian Goward, graduate student Taiana Periera, undergraduate student Jacob Keffer and graduate student Mengyang Cui.

Gillian Goward is chair of the Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology and an internationally renowned Canadian scientist who studies advanced energy materials using a combination of magnetic resonance spectroscopy and imaging. In her Magnetic Resonance and Materials for Energy Storage Lab, Goward and her students use nuclear magnetic resonance to study how lithium and other types of batteries and fuel cells work at a fundamental level. Since 2011, she has led an NSERC partnership program with researchers at General Motors and four Canadian universities.

MARCH 11, 2020

Go Back
McMaster University - Faculty of Science | Chemistry & Chemical Biology